AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Richie Stanaway passing Anton de Pasquale for the lead - Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

Richie Stanaway passing Anton de Pasquale for the lead – Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

Dunlop Super2 Series

NEW ZEALANDER Richie Stanaway lived up to the hype about his maiden weekend in the series by taking out the fourth race of round five of Dunlop Super2s at the Red Rooster Sydney Supersprint today, and finishing third overall.

He drove his Ford Performance Racing Falcon FG to win by 4.7 seconds over Macauley Jones in a Brad Jones Racing Holden Commodore VF while 2016 series winner Garry Jacobson (PRA FG) was third.

It was a messy start to the final race where Jack Le Brocq was shunted into the wall on pit straight after Will Brown and Richard Muscat bumped and triggered the accident. There was further drama in turn one where Andrew Jones (BJR VF) spun around Le Brocq’s Matt White Motorsport Nissan Altima team mate Shae Davis stopped before turn two with race-ending damage.

After the safety car, de Pasquale squeezed past Stanaway at the restart but the Kiwi returned serve at turn 6 and wasn’t challenged from there. Jones eventually passed de Pasquale as did Jacobson but de Pasquale was the round winner ahead of Paul Dumbrell who finished fifth in the Eggleston Motorsport VF.

Toyota 86 Racing Series

Cameron Hill perfect in Sydney - Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

Cameron Hill perfect in Sydney – Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

IT WAS a perfect score for Cameron Hill at round three (races seven, eight and nine) with wins in both of Sunday’s races.

In the morning race, he fended off the early challenge from Aaron Seton while series leader Jimmy Vernon was third. Later in the day Hill executed another perfect start to lead all the way again.

This time Seton missed a gear change off the line which allowed Vernon to be the immediate challenger and ultimately second place getter, continuing his perfect year of podium placings.

Liam McAdam finished fourth in race eight ahead of Tim Brook, Trent Grubel and Jake Klein. After his barnstorming run in race six, Ben Grice was deemed to have been a little too aggressive and was penalised 30 seconds. He started 25th and finished eighth ahead of Steven Johnson and Dylan Gulson.

In race eight it was Grubel who finished fourth behind Seton and ahead of ahead of Brook, Grice, Klein, McAdam, Gulson and Nick Carroll.

Formula 4

Nick Rowe won races two and three in Sydney - Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

Nick Rowe won races two and three in Sydney – Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

AGI SPORT’S Nick Rowe won races two and three at Sydney Motorsport Park, thus ensuing the overall round five victory in the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship and the first ever back-to-back result in the fledgling category.

Race two came under an almost immediate safety car when Sage Murdoch, Cameron Shields and Liam Lawson tangled at turn one, with Aaron Love and Harley Haber caught up in the aftermath.

Zagame Autosport’s Ryan Suhle led following the resumption of the race after the safety car but was passed by Rowe before the finish. Shields (Team BRM) recovered to claim second while Suhle held on to third, just in front of Zane Morse (BRM) and Tyler Everingham (Zagame).

Despite pole for the last, Shields bogged down at the start and that allowed Rowe to lead over Lawson (BRM) and Everingham.

Murdoch was stranded after a spin off turn 3. That brought out the safety car, after which Shield was able to track through to second ahead of Lawson. Everingham held on in a tight battle for fourth.

Aussie Racing Cars

James Duckworth added a couple more wins in Aussie Race Cars - Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

James Duckworth added a couple more wins in Aussie Race Cars – Photo: Dirk Klynsmith

FOLLOWING HIS win on Saturday in race one, James Duckworth (Camaro) continued his good form with another two scratch race wins today, as well as a second in the reverse top-14 grid event.

On two occasions, he had to concede the early running to Kel Treseder (Camaro) but overcame that for clear victories.

Series leader Craig Woods (Mustang) spun on the first corner in the day’s first race but fought back to eighth behind Jaie Robson (Mustang), Blake Sciberras (Mustang) and the Camaros driven by Chris Stevenson and Brendon Tucker.

In the reversed grid affair, it was Robson who secured victory, holding on ahead of Duckworth while Reece Chapman (Camaro) fended off Treseder, Sciberras, Stevenson and Peter Carr (Mustang) who had an engine failure in the previous race.

The last race had an early safety car when Pawel Faber (Euro GT) and Phil Ward (Mustang) came to grief at turn 6. Duckworth went on to a clear win over Robson, Treseder and Sciberras. Robson was relegated to eighth with a five-second penalty, leaving Carr fourth in front of Stevenson, Woods and Joel Heinrich (Cruze).

We’ll have more details from the Supercars weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park in the next issue of Auto Action magazine, on sale Thursday. In the mean time make sure you follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram for updates between issues.