AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Today Auto Action was at the reveal of DJR Team Penske’s challenger for the 2017 Supercars Championship.

The Shell V Power Racing Falcon along with drivers Fabian Coulthard and new signing Scott McLaughlin were unveiled as were Pirtek Endurance Cup drivers Tony D’Alberto and Alex Premat.

Both McLaughlin and Coulthard are confident of a good showing this year as the team showed great promise at the end of last year.

“We’ve done a lot of hard work in the off-season,” said Coulthard. “Hopefully we can roll the cars out fast and really maximise this package this year.”

McLaughlin added, “We’ve got a massive brains trust now, we’ve had Ludo (Lacroix) come on board, we’ve got Phil Keed, Nick Hughes, a massive design team, which includes a couple of Americans from Penske. “

“It’s got all the ingredients to be a good team and really develop some really nice parts. Ludo’s a crazy cat and someone that’s cool to have on our side. We have a great team to build a lot from.”

Shell V-Power will feature as the title sponsor of the car for the whole year after the team featured a number of title sponsors last year.

Viva Energy’s General Manager, Dan Ridgway is excited to reunite with DJR Team Penske full time this year after Shell previously enjoyed a long stint as title sponsor of the team between 1987-2004.

“This is a very exciting time for Viva Energy and Shell in Australia,” said Ridgway. “We have had a partnership with DJR Team Penske for many years, but our commitment to the Shell V-Power brand as the naming right platform for this program opens up new and innovative programs on track.”

McLaughlin will debut a new car at Clipsal with a shakedown scheduled before then, separate to the test day at Sydney Motorsport Park for all Supercars teams.