AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Lewis Hamilton leading the Belgian Grand Prix - Photo: LAT

Lewis Hamilton leading the Belgian Grand Prix – Photo: LAT

It was a lights to flag victory for Lewis Hamilton in his 200th Grand Prix race at the Belgian Grand Prix.

The race looked to be a complete domination by the Mercedes driver after the first round of pit stops. However, the appearance of the Safety Car, after contact between the two Force India’s on Lap 29, brought Sebastian Vettel back into the race.

The battle between two Force India’s, who had been close all race, boiled over when Sergio Perez pushed Esteban Ocon towards the wall on the straight. The two cars made contact, puncturing the rear tyre of Perez’s car and damaging the front wing of Ocon’s car, littering the track in debris.

Ferrari then brought Vettel into the pits under the Safety Car to switch over to the Ultra Soft tyre for the last few laps of the race. This allowed him to take the fight right up to Hamilton, who was on the harder Soft tyre, on the restart. Hamilton put up a good fight and managed to hold off the pressure to take a comfortable win by the end of the race.

Daniel Ricciardo finished third - Photo: LAT

Daniel Ricciardo finished third – Photo: LAT

Aussie Daniel Ricciardo, who also stopped for Ultra Soft tyres under the Safety Car, pulled off a stunning move on the restart to get past Valtteri Bottas and hold off a move by Kimi Raikkonen as the went three wide down the Kemmel Straight to elevate the Red Bull driver on to the final step on the podium. Raikkonen took fourth with Bottas dropping back to fifth.

Formula 1 – Belgian Grand Prix – Results

Position Driver Car Laps Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 44
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 44 2.358s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 44 10.791s
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 44 14.471s
5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 44 16.456s
6 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 44 28.087s
7 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 44 23h35m17.s
8 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 44 23h35m17.s
9 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 44 23h35m17.s
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 44 23h35m17.s
11 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 44 23h35m17.s
12 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 44 23h35m17.s
13 Jolyon Palmer Renault 44 23h35m17.s
14 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 44 23h35m17.s
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 44 23h35m17.s
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 44 23h35m17.s
17 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 42 Not running
DNF Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 25 Retirement
DNF Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 7 Retirement
DNF Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 2 Retirement

Formula 1 – Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 220
2 Lewis Hamilton 213
3 Valtteri Bottas 179
4 Daniel Ricciardo 132
5 Kimi Raikkonen 128
6 Max Verstappen 67
7 Sergio Perez 56
8 Esteban Ocon 47
9 Carlos Sainz 36
10 Nico Hulkenberg 34
11 Felipe Massa 27
12 Romain Grosjean 24
13 Lance Stroll 18
14 Kevin Magnussen 11
15 Fernando Alonso 10
16 Pascal Wehrlein 5
17 Daniil Kvyat 4
18 Stoffel Vandoorne 1
19 Jolyon Palmer 0
20 Marcus Ericsson 0
21 Antonio Giovinazzi 0

We’ll have a more details analysis of the Belgian Grand Prix in the next issue of Auto Action magazine. In the meantime follow us on social media FacebookTwitter and Instagram for all the latest updates.