AutoAction
FREE DIGITAL MAGAZINE SIGN UP

Norris, Russell and Mercedes fined in Brazil GP aftermath

By Reese Mautone

Playing a part in the messy start to the São Paulo Grand Prix, Lando Norris and George Russell have each been reprimanded and fined €5,000 for breaching the FIA’s aborted start procedure, with Mercedes also handed two separate €5,000 fines for adjusting tyre pressures on the grid.

The catalyst for the post-race investigations, Lance Stroll had a bizarre incident on the original formation lap of the rainy Brazilian outing when he sent himself spinning under braking at Turn 4.

Parked on the concrete run-off area, Stroll’s efforts to rejoin the pack ended up with the Aston Martin driver beached in the gravel trap, prompting an aborted start as track marshals worked to clear the AMR24.

The field returned to their grid slots, with a small handful of mechanics attending to their drivers during the 10-minute delay.

For Mercedes, its crew used the delay to lower tyre pressures for the already-fitted wheels on both Russell and Hamilton’s cars.

Doing so is a breach of the Technical Directive that states tyre pressures can only be changed when wheels are off cars, a rule break associated with a potential disqualification for the session.

Mercedes representatives were summoned to the stewards after the São Paulo Grand Prix, arguing that due to the tight constraints at the event, it was impossible to bring enough resources onto the limited grid to have changed pressures before the wheels had to be fitted to the #63 and #44. 

The team avoided an automatic disqualification, with the stewards instead handing the silver arrows a fine of €5,000 per car. 

Confirming its decision, the FIA’s statement read: “After the race start was aborted, the 10-minute notice was immediately given for the new start.

“Given the layout of the circuit and the access point to the grid from the pit lane, the time period for the team to get to the grid was extended.

“The gate to access the grid was not immediately opened. The FIA accepted that given this short notice it was extremely difficult if not impossible for the teams to follow the procedure prescribed in the technical directive.

It added: “Given the unusual circumstances surrounding the compressed time table, aborted start, the grid access logistics and given the stipulation from the Technical Delegate that the tyre pressures were within the correct parameters, the Stewards determine that a fine for a breach of procedure is appropriate in this case.”

“Normally a breach of this nature, within a competitive session would carry a sporting penalty but it is not appropriate in this case.

“However, this decision should not be considered as a precedent for any similar breach in the future as the circumstances are considered unique.”

The decision meant George Russell could hold onto his fourth-place finish, while Lewis Hamilton maintained the final points-paying position.

Occupying the front row of the grid, Russell wasn’t yet in the FIA’s good books after he and Lando Norris were deemed to have been in charge of the butchered aborted start proceedings. 

Signalling drivers to return or remain on the starting grid when the ‘aborted start’ message is being displayed on the start gantry, Norris misinterpreted its meaning and instead set off on the run to Turn 1.

His decision was backed up by George Russell who also confidently commenced the formation lap prematurely, with the drivers behind them not-so-confidently following suit or remaining in their grid boxes until they were given the green light to catch the pack.

Norris, Russell and both RB drivers were under investigation for the incident, with the stewards waiting until after the race to make their decision so they could hear from the teams involved.

Late on Sunday night in Brazil, the verdict was revealed, with Norris and Russell each handed a €5,000 fine and a reprimand for not following the correct procedure.

The FIA’s documentation confirming the two Britons’ penalties stated: “Although the signal was appropriately given the light panel illuminated as prescribed, and the teams notified by the messaging system, the driver left the grid and proceeded on a lap that he assumed to be an extra formation lap.

”As the driver was on the front row of the grid this triggered following drivers to take similar action.

“At some point the Race Director, realising that for practical reasons all cars would now need to do an extra formation lap, gave an instruction to the teams for all cars to proceed and return to the grid to follow the correct aborted start procedure. 

“In the opinion of the stewards the driver precipitated the action of the drivers on the grid directly behind him.”

Yuki Tsunoda and Liam Lawson were also noted for the infringement, however, it was deemed that the RB drivers were “not predominately responsible for the breach”, but simply reacted to the drivers’ actions ahead.

Image: Zak Mauger / LAT Images

READ THE LATEST ISSUE OF AUTO ACTION HERE

Don’t forget the print edition of Auto Action available via subscription here. For more of the latest motorsport news, subscribe to AUTO ACTION magazine.