AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Melbourne retains it spot as the opening F1 race of the year - Photo: LAT

Melbourne retains it spot as the opening F1 race of the year – Photo: LAT

After a meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council overnight, the calendar for the 2018 F1 season has been released.

The 2018 schedule will see Australia retain it’s traditional opening Formula 1 Grand Prix of the year slot, with a the Melbourne Grand Prix set for the 25th of March. With the season wrapping up 8 months later in Abu Dhabi.

But the biggest announcement was the return of France and Germany to the schedule. The first French Grand Prix in ten years will be held at Paul Ricard in 2018. While Hockenheim will again host the German Grand Prix.

Eleven of the 21 races will take place in Europe, five in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia.

The additional race in 2018 will see a more intensive program in the middle of the year, with five of the European races held within a six-week period.

“We wanted to finalise next season’s calendar early, so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA,” commented Formula One Chairman and CEO, Chase Carey.

“We are proud to confirm that the German and French Grands Prix will take place in 2018. France was one of the seven races that made up the first ever World Championship in 1950 and it now returns after a decade. It will be held at the Paul Ricard circuit, which last hosted a round of the F1 Championship in 1990.”

“The number of races has increased by one compared to the current season. We received numerous requests from those wishing to host a Formula 1 Grand Prix but we wanted the existing promoters to feel that we are putting all our efforts into ensuring that each race is a special event, so that the fans, our most important stakeholders, can enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience. If we can do that, then the entire Formula 1 family will reap the benefit.”

2018 Formula 1 Schedule:

Date Venue Formula 1 Grand Prix
25 March Melbourne Australia
8 April Shanghai China
15 April Sakhir Bahrain
29 April Baku Azerbaijan
13 May Barcelona Spain
27 May Monaco Monaco
10 June Montreal Canada
24 June Le Castellet France
1 July Spielberg Austria
8 July Silverstone Great Britain
22 July Hockenheim Germany
29 July Budapest Hungary
26 August Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
2 September Monza Italy
16 September Singapore Singapore
30 September Sochi Russia
7 October Suzuka Japan
21 October Austin USA
28 October Mexico City Mexico
11 November Sao Paulo Brazil
25 November Yas Marina Abu Dhabi

Make sure you pick up a copy Auto Action for an in depth analysis for the  In the meantime, make sure you follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest updates between issues.