AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Australian Prototype Series title on the line at Phillip Island - Photo: Supplied

Australian Prototype Series title on the line at Phillip Island – Photo: Supplied

THE MAIDEN Australian Prototype Series will go down to the wire at Phillip Island this weekend. After four rounds, six drivers remain in contention ahead of the final three races.

Mark Laucke leads the championship after becoming the first repeat round winner of the season. The South Australian powered his West WX10 to five race victories this season. Laucke’s 358 points sits him 48 in front of Terry Peovitis.

The latter and his RFR F1000 have not won a race this year his consistency has been the key this year. The West Aussie driver sits just two points in front of Chris Sutton (Radical SR3). The series points score allows drivers to drop their two worst race scores, and this has aided Sutton.

Having led the series across the first three rounds, misfortune struck Phil Hughes (Radical SR3) last time out where an engine failure saw him score zero points. However, his 278 points keeps him well in contention.

West WX10 drivers Jason Makris and John-Paul Drake sit fifth and sixth in the championship, respectively. With Makris set to miss the round due to commitments overseas, Drake will look to take advantage. Though his 266 points leaves him some way off the championship lead, Drake remains a mathematical chance to take the title.

Looking to mix it up amongst the championship contenders will be a number of new and returning drivers including a unique father and son combination in David Crampton and his son Jack in two Radical SR3s.

Victorians Scott Mackay (West), Simon Meade (Radical) and Philip Tan (Radical) will also join he grid, while Jonathon Stoeckel (West) and Gerrit Ruff (West) return.

Three races will be contested this weekend to conclude a highly competitive debut season for the Australian Prototype Series.

Four different drivers have won the twelve races contested this year, three have scored poles and round victories while nine have finished on the podium.

Australian Prototype Series Entry List – Round 5 – Phillip Island

Car # Class Sponsor Driver Vehicle
3 Radical Vantage Fright Services/Prolap Motoports David Crampton Radical SR3 RSX
4 FL1 Orlando Phoenix Terry Peovitis RFR F1000
11 Kumho Cup Lark Construction Scott Mackay West WR 1000
16 Radical Strategy One HR Simon Meade Radical SR3
24 Radical Bayside Dental Specialists Philip Tan Radical SR3
35 Radical 321 Motorsport Chris Sutton Radical SR3
42 Radical Hughes Supercar Services Philip Hughes Radical SR3
53 Kumho Cup Bryan Stoeckel Jonathon Stoeckel West WR1000
55 P1 Laucke Flour Mills Mark Laucke West WX10
66 Kumho Cup Jam Motorsport Aaron Steer West WX10
88 Kumho Cup CRC Industries Australia Gerrit Ruff West WR 1000
333  Radical Vantage Fright Services/Prolap Motoports Jack Crampton Radical SR3

We’ve got more of the latest national motorsport news in the next issue of Auto Action magazine, on sale Thursday. We’ll also keep you update with all the action from the Shannons Nationals at Phillip Island, including a livestream, on our website throughout the weekend, so make sure follow us on social media FacebookTwitter, Instagram or our Weekly Newsletter.