AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Lewis Hamilton wins fourth straight British Grand Prix - Photo: LAT

Lewis Hamilton wins fourth straight British Grand Prix – Photo: LAT

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton has won his fourth straight the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

While Hamilton’s race out front was nothing short of a lights to flag domination. The race behind was filled with drama.

Ferrari were all set to claim the remaining spots on the podium, however, Kimi Raikkonen suffered a front left puncture with just two laps remaining, forcing him into the pits for new tyres. A lap later Sebastian Vettel suffered the same fate, damaging his car in the process.

Raikkonen recovered to finish third, behind Valtteri Bottas who benefitted greatly from the issues with Ferrari’s. Vettel did finish the race, but fell back the seventh.

However, the drive of the day went to Aussie Daniel Ricciardo. He carved his way through the field finish fifth, behind Red Bull team mate Max Verstappen after starting from the back of the grid.

Daniel Ricciardo finished fifth after starting 19th and this small off - Photo: LAT

Daniel Ricciardo finished fifth after starting 19th and this small off – Photo: LAT

It wasn’t a faultless drive from Ricciardo. After making his way up to 12th initially, he made a small mistake in traffic which sent him back to 18th before charging back up to the top of the order.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg continued his solid weekend finishing the race in sixth. The same could not be said for his team mate Jolyon Palmer who stopped on warmup lap with a hydraulic issue and couldn’t make the start.

Formula 1 British Grand Prix Results

Position Driver Car Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 51 Laps
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 14.063s
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 36.570s
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 52.125s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m05.955s
6 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m08.109s
7 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m33.989s
8 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1 Lap
9 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1 Lap
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1 Lap
11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1 Lap
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1 Lap
13 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1 Lap
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 1 Lap
16 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1 Lap
17 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
DNF Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda Retirement
DNF Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault Collision
DNF Jolyon Palmer Renault Not started

Formula 1 Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 177
2 Lewis Hamilton 176
3 Valtteri Bottas 154
4 Daniel Ricciardo 117
5 Kimi Raikkonen 98
6 Max Verstappen 57
7 Sergio Perez 52
8 Esteban Ocon 43
9 Carlos Sainz 29
10 Nico Hulkenberg 26
11 Felipe Massa 23
12 Lance Stroll 18
13 Romain Grosjean 18
14 Kevin Magnussen 11
15 Pascal Wehrlein 5
16 Daniil Kvyat 4
17 Fernando Alonso 2
18 Jolyon Palmer 0
19 Marcus Ericsson 0
20 Stoffel Vandoorne 0
21 Antonio Giovinazzi 0

Make sure you pick up the next issue of Auto Action for a full analysis of the British Grand Prix. In the meantime follow us on social media FacebookTwitter and Instagram for all the latest updates.