AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Liam Talbot leads the Australian GT Championship after Perth - Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

Liam Talbot leads the Australian GT Championship after Perth – Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

The Australian GT Championship heads up to Townsville for it’s fourth and penultimate round of the 2017 season this weekend.

It’ll be the fourth appearance for Australian GT at the Reid Park street circuit as the championship battle heats up.

With wins at Albert Park and Barbagallo, Liam Talbot currently leads the points standings with 393 points in the MEGA Racing Porsche.

Still in contention are Roger Lago (JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX) and Geoff Emery (partnered with Kelvin van der Linde in the Valvoline Jamec Pem Audi R8 LMS) who are tied in second place, just 28 points behind.

Last years Townsville GT race winner, Tony Walls, could upset the title contenders and challenge for race wins as jumps back behind the wheel of his Objective Racing McLaren 650S GT3, after sitting out the round in Western Australia.

Australian GT will take to circuit six times across the weekend, starting with practice on Friday (July 7) morning ahead of two qualifying sessions on Saturday (July 8).

They will set the grid for the first of three 40-minute races, starting on Saturday afternoon before culminating with two races on Sunday (July 9).

Australian GT Round 4 Entry List – Townsville

# Team Car Drivers
3 Ah Apartments Audi R8 LMS Ash Samadi
7 Darrell Lea McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Quinn
8 WM Waste Management Services Mercedes-AMG GT3 Max Twigg
9 Hallmarc Constructions Audi R8 LMS Marc Cini
11 Objective Racing McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Walls
14 PM Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Peter Major
19 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mercedes-AMG GT3 Mark Griffith
23 JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX Roger Lago
24 Moveitnet/AFS Mercedes-AMG GT3 Tony Bates
29 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Jim Manolios/Ryan Millier
44 Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 LMS James Koundouris/Ash Walsh
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Glen Wood
51 AMAC Motorsport/IMAK/Kwitmit Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels
59 YNA Autosport/McElrea Racing McLaren 650S GT3 Fraser Ross
74 Valvoline Jamec Pem Audi R8 LMS Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde
100 BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 Steve Richards/James Bergmuller
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Scott Taylor
911 MEGA Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R Liam Talbot

Make sure you follow Auto Action on social media – Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates throughout the Townsville event this week.