AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Kamui Kobayashi qualifies fastest for Toyota at the Le Mans 24 Hour - Photo: LAT

Kamui Kobayashi qualifies fastest for Toyota at the Le Mans 24 Hour – Photo: LAT

The No. 7 Toyota of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Stephane Sarrazin will start from pole after smashing the qualifying record at Le Mans.

Kamui Kobayashi stamped his authority on the race, qualifying a clear 3 seconds faster that his nearest rival, with a time of 3:14.791.

Seeking redemption after mechanical issues robbed Toyota of an all but certain victory in 2016, the team locked out the front row, with Kazuki Nakajima second fastest in the No. 8 that he’ll share with Sebastien Buemi and Anthony Davidson.

Andre Lotterer was best of the Porsche drivers, putting the No.1 car into third, in the car he’ll share with Neel Jani and Nicholas Tandy. Narrowly eclipsing the time of the second Porsche of Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley.

Fastest in LMP2 was the No. 26 G-Drive Racing Oreca of Pierre Thiriet, Roman Rusinov and Alexander Lynn.

Aston Martin claimed the GTE-Pro pole position, with Darren Turner fastest in the No. 97 Vantage that he’ll share Jonathan Adam and Daniel Serra.

While GTE-Am went to the No. 50 of Chevrolet Corvette of Fernando Rees, Romain Brandela and Christian Philippon.

Pick up the latest copy of Auto Action Magazine for our Le Mans 24 Hour preview. Also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates across the weekend.