AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Historic Formula 5000 head to Sydney Motorsport Park

Historic Formula 5000 head to Sydney Motorsport Park

THE RACING of the 1960s through to the 1990s, its cars and drivers, and the competition they procured are back in a brand new racing weekend for motorsport fans young and young-at-heart will enjoy this weekend, June 10-11 at Sydney Motorsport Park, Eastern Creek.

The Sydney Classic Speed Festival will showcase the best of classic racing cars with a fun, period-themed festival atmosphere.

Headlining the event is the popular stock-block V8 Formula 5000s, the thundering open-wheelers featuring alongside the Heritage Touring Cars, cars with genuine history which were the mainstay at Bathurst from the 70s through to the early 90s.

Legendary Heritage Touring Cars will also feature at Sydney Motorsport Park

Legendary Heritage Touring Cars will also feature at Sydney Motorsport Park

The legendary Group C and Group A cars of that era include Commodores, Falcons, Skylines, Sierras and BMWs, plus the competitive Formula Fords which will be celebrating their 50th Anniversary.

Along with the F5000s and Heritage Touring Cars (racing entry lists below) competing and in demonstrations, there will be Historic Touring Cars, Group S Production Sports Cars, Historic Sports Racing Cars, Modern Regularity and Formula Ford celebrating the category’s 50th Anniversary.

There will be new race formats including scratch, handicap and also split-grid starts, Car Club displays, and Sydney’s newest Concourse event which organisers say will have the best display vehicles Sydney has ever seen.

Tom Tweedie 1973 Chevron B24/28
David Crabtree 1972 March
Tim Berryman 1974 Lola T332
Darcy Russell 1972 Lola T330
Alf Costanzo 1969 McLaren M10B
Mike Glynn 1977 Elfin MR8-BC
Glenn Welch 1973 Repco Matich A53
Max Pearson 1971 Elfin
Paul Zazryn 1974 Lola T332
Frank Harris 1972 Chevron B24
Andrew Kluver 1972 Lola
Rod Carroll 1968 Lola T140
Adrian Akhurst 1976 Lola T332C
Brenton Griguol 1969 Lola
Dean Camm 1974 Chevron B24
Robert Splatt 1973 March 732A

Tony Alford 1991 Nissan GTR R32
Tony Pallas 1984 Jaguar XJS
Terry Lawlor 1991 Ford Sierra
Carey McMahon 1990 Ford Sierra
David Harris 1985 BMW
Duncan MacKellar 1992 BMW M3
David Towe 1987 BMW M3
Matthew Hornby 1985 Holden Commodore VL
Kyle Alford 1987 BMW M3
Brian Henderson 1985 Nissan Gazelle
Craig Neilson 1983 Mitsubishi Starion
David Gardner 1992 Holden Commodore VN
Harrison Jones 1987 BMW E30 M3
Craig Foster 1986 Toyota Corolla AE86
Richard Allen 1992 BMW E30 M3
Adrian Allisey 1992 Holden Commodore

Michael Logiudice 1977 Holden Torana A9X
John Mina 1980 Ford Falcon XD
Frank Binding 1980 Ford Falcon XD
Bill Magoffin 1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GTV
David Paterson 1983 Toyota Corolla Sprinter
Dean How 1981 BMW 635csi
Cole Spender 1970 Ford Escort T/C
Phillip Verwoert 1982 Mazda RX7
Glenn Gerstel 1983 Ford Falcon XE
Steve Axisa 1972 Holden Torana XU-1
Peter Woods 1979 Volvo 242 GT

Make sure you follow Auto Action on social media Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news.