AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Perth Formula 4 Round Winner Cameron Shields - Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

Perth Formula 4 Round Winner Cameron Shields – Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

The Australian Formula 4 Championship passes it halfway point with this weekend’s fourth round at Phillip Island.

Young Kiwi, Liam Lawson, continues to lead the series with after winning the opening round of the championship at Sandown. While F4 veteran and round two winner, Nick Rowe sits second, just four points behind.

After claiming the round win in Perth, Cameron Shields moves into the third in the championship standings. The Toowoomba based driver will be looking to continue that recent form at Phillip Island to close the 40 point gap to the leaders.

The battle for Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year honours is also hotly contested, with Rising Star Ryan Suhle leading by 25 points over round three rookie winner Aaron Love.

It’ll be the third time in Australian Formula 4’s brief history that the series has raced at Phillip Island. Last year’s round winner Jordan Love and older brother of Aaron Love having stepped up to race in Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge this year, who will also be competing at Phillip Island this weekend as part of the Shannons Nationals 100th round celebrations.

Of the current Formula 4 field, only four drivers have F4 race experience at Phillip Island, with Nick Rowe, Josh Denton, Tyler Everingham and Simon Fallon having competed at the venue last year.

Zak Best has had previous success at Phillip Island - Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

Zak Best has had previous success at Phillip Island – Photo: Rhys Vandersyde

However, they aren’t the only drivers in race miles at Phillip Island. Zak Best has had some success there previously, scoring a race win in Aussie Racing Cars last year. While Cameron Shields has also stood on the podium there during his time in Formula 3.

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Entry List for Phillip Island

#5 – Ryan Suhle (QLD) (R) – Zagame Autosport – Ray White/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#7 – Tyler Everingham (NSW) – Zagame Autosport – JetGo
#11 – Zane Morse (ACT) (R) – Team BRM – Charman Earthmoving/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#21 – Harley Haber (NSW) – AGI Sport – CEJN
#27 – Simon Fallon (VIC) – Team BRM – CoolDrive/Fallon Developments/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#30 – Liam Lawson (NZ) – Team BRM –
#44 – Sage Murdoch (NSW) (R) – AGI Sport – Racesah
#61 – Jordan Mazzaroli (NSW) (R) – JRD – Real Equity Real Estate/Mr Moto
#73 – Cameron Shields (QLD) – Team BRM – McDonald’s Toowoomba/Dependable Sheds/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#76 – Zakkary Best (VIC) – AGI Sport – Best Leisure Industries
#78 – Aaron Love (WA) (R) – Team BRM – Coco’s
#91 – Josh Denton (SA) – Team BRM – Pink’s Mitre 10
#97 – Nick Rowe (WA) – AGI Sport – SCT Logistics

(R) = Rookie

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship Standings

#1 – Liam Lawson: 164
#2 – Nick Rowe: 160
#3 – Cameron Shields: 121
#4 – Josh Denton: 94
#5 – Ryan Suhle: 77 (R)
#6 – Tyler Everingham: 68
#7 – Aaron Love: 52 (R)
#8 – Jordan Mazzaroli: 44 (R)
#9 – Harley Haber: 34
#10 – Simon Fallon: 31
#11 – Zane Morse: 30 (R)
#12 – Zak Best: 28
#13 – Sage Murdoch: 6 (R)

Make sure you follow Auto Action on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest updates from the Shannons Nationals at Phillip Island.