AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


In a dry session, McLaughlin led the way.

The fight for pole position at Winton’s Supercars Race 9 is shaping up as a battle between Scott McLaughlin, Chaz Mostert, Shane van Gisbergen and Brad Jones Racing.

McLaughlin, Mostert and SVG were the only drivers to get under the 1m20s mark around the 3km circuit, with the Shell V-Power driver setting a time of 1m19.5923, only 0.08s faster than Mostert.

It’s a little bit ‘tram-tracky’ out there but it’s pretty fast,” said McLaughlin, who is currently tied for fourth in the championship points.

BJR’s form at the track continues. Tim Slade, who won both races in 2016, was fourth fastest just ahead of teammate Nick Percat, who carried his Friday form into Saturday’s third Practice session.

At the other end of the timing screens are Craig Lowndes in 23rd place and Jamie Whincup in 24th, the latter going off the track during the session at T11.

Best of the Wildcard drivers was Shae Davies in P21, while fellow WC entry James Golding went off on Turn 6, at which stage Mark Winterbottom was fastest. The PRA driver, who celebrates his 36thbirthday today, ended up in sixth place.

Qualifying will take place at 1:25pm, with Race 9 due to start at 4pm, to be run over 40 laps.

Make sure you sure you follow us on social media, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates across the weekend.