AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Fabian Coulthard has led home a DJR Team Penske one-two in the fourth race of the season held at Symmons Plains.

A reduced field took to the start with James Courtney, Will Davison, Rick Kelly and Taz Douglas missing after the 11-car pile-up from yesterday.

It was Jamie Whincup that took Pole Position, however, but it was Chaz Mostert who led after taking less fuel in his first pit stop. Mostert continued his impressive drive as the race approached the second scheduled pit stops, but on lap 56 Mostert made an unforced error and ended up off track, which surrended his lead to Coulthard.

Coulthard and McLaughlin led the field home ahead of Whincup, Craig Lowndes and David Reynolds. Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen recovered from a 15s penalty taken in his second pit stop after a clash with Todd Kelly, to finish ninth. Mostert recovered from his earlier off to finish seventh, behind teammate Cameron Waters.

The race was punctuated by multiple Safety Car periods. Jason Bright caused one when he went straight on after the back straight and made heavy contact with the barrier, another was caused by Tim Blanchard dropping a wheel onto the grass on the start finish straight and pirouetting into the opposite wall, while both Lee Holdsworth and Todd Kelly had late-race off track excursions that brought out the Safety Car.

Alex Rullo also retired from the race after suffering significant damage to the rear of his car.

Coulthard is only 20 points arrears of van Gisbergen, and had he not incurred a 35-point penalty after an investigation of yesterday’s incident he would be leading the championship.

“I didn’t think it was possible after qualy, but in the dry the thing was a jet,” enthused Coulthard

“I think we should leave here pretty happy. A one-two for the team doesn’t get much better.”

The title race will continue at Phillip Island on April 21-23.