AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Supercars held two races today, in which Team DJR Team Penske dominated. Drivers Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard took a race win each, while chaos in both races highlighted the day.

McLaughlin and Coulthard were well clear of the trouble as McLaughlin led home his teammate, with Chaz Mostert third in Race One, but in Race Two Coulthard turned the tables and won with Michael Caruso putting his Nissan on the podium.

The second race only had 24 starters as in Race One brake failure caused Nick Percat to lose control at Turn One and spear into the luckless Lee Holdsworth. Race One also saw Prodrive pair Jason Bright and Cameron Waters in trouble as Bright speared off the track numerous times and as for Waters, he was tipped into a spin.

A perfect start from Caruso put him in third after the first chicane, and there he would stay as the Safety Car came out after an incident between Mostert and Shane van Gisbergen, left the champ stranded facing the wrong way on the circuit with James Moffat the unlucky victim, colliding head on. Mostert was given a drive through penalty.

After running out of tyres in Race One, Simona de Silvestro tagged a wall in Race Two which ended her race.

Race Three for the Supercars is at 3:50pm.

Roger Lago completely dominated today’s second Australian GT Championship race at Albert Park. Lago won the start from Mercedes driver Max Twigg and was never headed in a Safety Car free 25-minute race.

Behind Lago, there was enthralling battles throughout the top 10 as Twigg, McLaren mounted Fraser Ross and the Lamborghini R-Ex of Peter Major battled for second with Ross ultimately proving successful in that battle. Later, Major was penalised five seconds for a start infringement, elevating Liam Talbot up to fourth.

Behind the battle for second, Ryan Millier in the Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan, Tony Walls in the Objective McLaren and Audi driver Geoff Emery had a titanic battle for eighth. Both Millier and Emery had to recover from an incident that saw the pair bump wheels at Turn Three.

Tony Quinn had an unhappy 100th start in Australian GT. Quinn was involved in a racing incident with Tony Bates, who later spun his Mercedes at the same spot a lap later, at Turn 11. After the initial incident Quinn’s McLaren spit flames out of the rear, reminiscent of the McLaren at the Bathurst 12 Hour.

Race Three for Australian GT is at 12:05.

Porsche Carrera Cup saw the Sonic pair of Nick McBride and Andre Heimgartner dominated proceedings as Cameron McConville was not able to keep up with the pair, unlike in the first race.

McConville and a fast starting Alex Davison raced closely for third, but McConville held on in an uninterrupted affair. The race was shortened by a lap due to the Percat, Holdsworth accident though McBride was never headed once Heimgartner ran wide at the exit of Turn 12 a couple of laps from the end.

Stephen Grove took out Challenge ahead of Marc Cini and Matt Palmer.

Porsche Carrera Cup continues tomorrow at 12:45.