AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


Australian GT is set to be represented by 30 cars at this year’s support event for the 2017 Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park.

The event, which has received a tweak after last year’s confusing format, will feature a plethora of Lamborghinis including two Huracans debuting at the event.

Cameron McConville and Adrian Deitz will share the Timken Huracan GT3 prepared by Zagame Motorsport, while former Porsche driver Andrew McPherson will race his IMAK sponsored example after showing it off at the Bathurst 12 Hour. Meanwhile, Ivan Capelli will partner with Jim Manolios in the Trofeo Motorsport Huracan

Speaking of the 12 Hour, Peter Edwards will pilot this year’s victorious Ferrari 488 GT3 and will be supported by Hector Lester and Benny Simonsen in an older 458 model, as will Victorian state competitor Wayne Mack.

The Audi armada will reach eight as Garry Higgon makes his Australian GT debut in his KFC sponsored Audi R8 GT3, as Tim Miles replaces Steve McLaughlin in the #75 Jamec Pem Audi.

Race winner at Clipsal, Tony Bates spearheads the Mercedes attack and will be supported by the GT Trophy MARC Class winner, Jake Camilleri, who will share with Mark Griffith. Scott Taylor and Craig Baird will be looking to emulate their win from last year, while former round winner, Max Twigg will want to do the same.

Fraser Ross will gain a new co-driver in the form of Strakka LMP2 driver Lewis Williamson to partner him in the Tekno McLaren. Williamson competed in the LMP2 Class of the World Endurance Championship and is the 2009 BRDC Rising Star. The pair will be joined by Tony Quinn and Tony Walls in McLarens.

BMW Team SRM expands to two cars as Danny Stutterd has completed the purchase of the ex-Castrol Bathurst 12 Hour BMW M6 GT3. Stutterd’s entry adds to the Laser Plumbing BMW of Steve Richards and James Bergmuller.

The Australian GT Championship will take on two qualifying sessions and four 25-minute races. The higher rated drivers will take part in the first qualifying session and the Races One and Three, while the lower rated driver will take part in the other sessions. Solo drivers compete in each. The points will be staggered with 25 being handed to the winner in Race One, while 80 will be received for the Race Four victory.

Round 2 Entry List

# Team Car Drivers
3 Ah Apartments Audi R8 LMS Ash Samadi
5 GT Motorsport Audi R8 LMS Greg Taylor
6 Timken Zagame Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Adrian Deitz/Cameron McConville
7 Darrell Lea McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Quinn
8 Australian Engineered Flooring Mercedes-AMG GT3 Max Twigg
9 Hallmarc Construction Audi R8 LMS Marc Cini/Dean Fiore
11 Objective Racing McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Walls
14 PM Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Peter Major
19 Hog’s Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mercedes-AMG GT3 Mark Griffith/Jake Camilleri
23 JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX Roger Lago/David Russell
24 Moveitnet/AFS Mercedes-AMG GT3 Tony Bates
29 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Jim Manolios/Ivan Capelli
44 Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 LMS James Koundouris/Ash Walsh
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Yasser Shahin/Glen Wood
51 AMAC Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Andrew Macpherson
59 Tekno Autosports McLaren 650S GT3 Fraser Ross/Lewis Williamson
73 HHH Triffid Racing Lamborghini R-EX Michael Hovey
74 Valvoline Audi R8 LMS Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde
75 Valvoline Audi R8 LMS Tim Miles
88 Maranello Motorsport Ferrari 488 GT3 Peter Edwards
100 BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 Steve Richards/James Bergmuller
101 DJS Racing BMW M6 GT3 Danny Stuttered
124 KFC Audi R8 LMS Gary Higgon
199 Industrie Clothing Audi R8 Ultra Nick Kelly/Barton Mawer
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Scott Taylor/Craig Baird
911 MEGA Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R Liam Talbot
21 Rosso Verde Racing Ferrari 458 GT3 Hector Lester/Benny Simonsen
68 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Porsche GT3 Cup Car Michael O’Donnell
99 Fire Rating Solutions Lamborghini Gallardo GT3 Mathew Turnbull
147 Mack Roofing Products Ferrari 458 GT3 Wayne Mack