AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971


The first round of the Victorian State Series this weekend will play host to round one of the Formula Ford National Series as well as 50 Hyundai Excels.

A split grid for the Excels will be led by last year’s champion Adam Bywater as he fights off his regular combatants in the form of Nathan Blight, Kaide Lehmann, Harley Phelan and newcomer Ben Bargwanna.

32 Formula Fords will battle it out as Sandown hosts the first round of the Formula Ford National Series. While reigning series winner Leanne Tander and runner up Will Brown may have moved on, but that doesn’t mean there won’t be a lack of competition. Jordan Boys, Max Vidau, Jayden Ojeda, Liam McLellan and ex-F3 driver Cameron Shields will be ones to watch, as will the Kent powered cars.

Heath Collinson and Blaine Grills lead a quality Formula Vee field, as does Anthony Hubbard in his Chevrolet Camaro in the Historic Touring Cars.

Andrew McLeod, Perry Bekkers and Andrew Magilton will renew their battle from last year in a 23 car HQ field, while Damian Milano will lead the charge in Improved Production in his HSV against some new machinery led by David Levy’s BMW M3.

A strong MG and Invited British Sportscar field is led by Phil Chester in his V8 MG as MG and triumph battle it out. The Sports Sedans have most of the regulars missing as Steven Page and Andrew Parker in their Commodores will battle it out with the Nissan Skyline GT-R of Vin Stenta.

Chris Lewis-Williams, Cameron Beller, Michael Westaway and Mark Taubitz will be looking to take the opening round spoils from reigning champion Vince Misuraca in the Porsche 944s. Damien Mitchell and Tony Auddino will uphold the Holden and Ford honours in the Saloon Cars as Auddino hopes that the Fords have a better season than last year.

The Sports Cars will see the Melbourne Performance Centre armada headed by young Ryan How and a new Audi R8 GT3 LMS of Garry Higgon. Jamie Augustine has replaced the fan favourite Daytona with the Dodge Viper GT3 that the team debuted at the Bathurst 12 Hour meet. Others to look out for are Richard Mensa and Rhys Howell, who will drive a Lamborghini Gallardo GT3.