AutoAction Australia’s #1 Motor Racing read since 1971 Motorsport news since 1971



By Geoff Rounds

Young American racer Carson Macedo has won the annual Presidents Cup after executing a brilliant last lap pass on James McFadden at Avalon Raceway last night.

Macedo who started from position six for the 25 lap feature picked off his opponents with ease and would drive around the outside of McFadden after chasing him from lap four.

It was a last gasp effort that Macedo put in with the Sean Dyson-owned #99 machine and with just one circuit remaining he would cruise home to take the chequered flag from McFadden and four time Presidents Cup winner Robbie Farr.

L-R David Dickson of Essendon Ford, James McFadden, Carson Macedo and Robbie Farr. 

“What a race. I can’t say enough about this 99 team.

It’s a team effort. Last year I came here and tried a few things and came second in the Victorian Sprintcar Title, it’s a place that’s been good to me,” Macedo said.

Fellow American Dominic Scelzi who started alongside McFadden on the front row failed to take his place in the final lineup when he broke a steering arm during the warm up laps.

The big mover of the race was American Brian Brown who moved forward nine positions from 14th to eventually finish fifth in a stirring drive that will be a confidence boost heading into the weekend’s racing.

Which includes Thursday night Kings Challenge at Borderline Speedway Mount Gambia and the three nights of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic, Warnambool.